Trend forecasted.

As a brief follow up to my previous posting in April, Via Window, where I mention my prediction on the up and coming transformation of the window mannequin, I have in fact foreseen correctly! I suppose something about New York Times is very validating, therefore I consider my “trending” ability to be reaching a new level of accuracy.

Though the article mentions the already climbing industry for use of customized mannequins –  aimed to attract more onlookers in a very “come on in” fashion –  it elaborates particularly on the molds and customization of the mannequin expressions and personality traits. My fashion trend forecast aim a couple of months ago was more targeted at the use & positioning of the mannequin itself, such as Lanvin displays. minor detail.

The read covers some great points in history on the evolution of the mannequin – it’s 1920s physical advancement with the addition of limbs and a torso, then to 3D, and then changes throughout the 60s and 70s based on the social trends and cultural status of women (nipples appeared when women started going braless, wigs and extravagant hair in the 70s). Furthermore, the article reveals more recent limit-pushing like Nike making their mannequins taller, Guess having them black, Armani using them lying down, Ralph Lauren using the model face of Yasmin Le Bon, and Disney with young girls curtseying.

For a more in depth look on the movement towards more customized mannequins, and the market demand and response, as well as some of the players behind the scene, check out the article here: Stores Emphasize New Looks for Mannequins. This may be the reverse process in finally advancing the look and trends of the physical runway model, a long running controversial issue for designers, marketers, and very much for consumers. For now, I’ll store my validated fashion forecast in my pocket until the next! And I still think Lanvin does it best. Let’s have another Lanvin look:

Lanvin mannequin marvels.

more Lanvin mannequin marvels

About Angela Gleason

visual designer | writer | pianist in the basement | painter in the night | fashion critic | lush | Italian savant check me out: www.taxisandwalnuts.com