Diamond in the Rough: Russia’s Il’ya Beshevli

Il`ya Beshevli

Il`ya Beshevli

In the non-descript Russian territory of Krasnoyarsk, one of ivory’s best tuned players emerges. He’s 21, with the flavor of Ludovico, the magic of Tiersen, and the touch reserved for a pianist at the depths of b-sharps and refined flats. Il’ya Beshevli articulates the soul of cold piano and its heroic layers with Night Forest. The rawness of his arrangements – heavy chords, weightless octaves – torch the darkness in what echoes as romantic dialogue between the keys and their context. Recorded on a frail and withering upright, Night Forest upholds the mystery of its title as the composer carries on.

In creating what he aims to deliver in all of his compositions,

“to make this world a little better with my music, touching pieces of your soul”

– the classically trained and old soul of  young Il’ya Beshevli commands listeners with his material: minimalism under the dark and pure of black and white. A music savant’s pride and joy: stumbling upon raw talent, virgin and polished, penetrating in story and still quiet on its own. Meet the music, and the man behind it. The sound, and the interview.

——– Interview with Il’ya Beshevli by Angela Gleason ——–

AG: Fresh, young, and on the radar, and so unknown! Tell me about your music background. Where did you study? How long have you been playing the piano?  IB: I’m a student-engineer at the Technical University, but it is not my direction, and only just recently I realized that music is my calling, and this is my way. I finished music school, studying piano, in 2005. Since then, I have not associated myself with music. In 2009, I suddenly decided to learn to play the guitar. I was easily able to master the basics and guitar awakened my creativity, but I could not implement the guitar fully. In 2010, I began to remember what I learned in music school and playing piano compositions from my father (my father is a professional composer). In the summer of 2012, I wrote my first work and from that moment I began my first steps as a composer.

AG: Расскажите мне о вашей фоновой музыки (где вы учитесь? Сколько лет играете фортепиано? IB: Я учусь на инженера в техническом университете, но это не мой путь, совсем недавно понял что музыка это мое призвание, это мой путь. Я закончил музыкальную школу по классу фортепиано в 2005 году. С тех пор я не связывал себя с музыкой, в 2009 году я вдруг решил научится играть на гитаре. Мне легко удалось освоить азы, гитара разбудила мой творческий потенциал, но на гитаре я его не мог реализовать его в полной мере. в 2010 году я стал вспоминать чему меня учили в музыкальной школе играя сочинения отца. (Мой отец профессиональный композитор). Летом 2012 я сочинил первое произведение и с этого момента я начал первые свои шаги как композитора.

AG: How did you begin music with the piano, why the piano? IB: Piano for me is a very versatile tool, a tool that has a lot to give. As my father says, “there is a piano in the whole orchestral. 

Il'ya BeshevliAG: Почему вы начали с пианино? IB: Пианино для меня инструмент очень универсальный, инструмент который может многое передать. Как говорит мой отец: “в пианино есть весь оркестр”.

AG: Tell me about your musical inspirations and from where you draw upon creative build? (film, literature, politics, history, dailies..) IB: The big influence on my style was provided by Ludovico Einaudi, Yann Tiersen. Their work is very inspiring to me, I aspire to their level. My creative works have also been inspired by what my father played, also his criticism and some advice. I’m also very inspired by the works of my compatriot Viktor Petrovich Astafiev (a prose writer), his work is close to my liking (about soul). Most of my work is a reflection of the state of my soul, so that it can speak to all of life – as the source of inspiration.

AG: Ваше вдохновение музыки? (другие музыканты, фильмы, литература, путешествия …. IB: Большое влияние на мой стиль оказали: Людовико Ейнауди,  Ян Тирсен. Их произведения очень вдохновляют меня,  я стремлюсь к их уровню. Так же не малую роль в моем творчестве сыграли произведения отца, критика и некоторые его советы. Так же я очень вдохновляюсь произведениями своего земляка Виктора Петровича Астафьева, он близок мне по душе. В основном мои произведения это отражения состояния души,  так что можно сказать что вся жизнь – есть источник вдохновления.

AG: Can you describe how your music experience in Russia is unique from other musicians? IB: Every musician, composer develops individually and the brighter the individual themes and notable musicians as a person, no matter in which country. 

AG: Можете ли вы описать, чeм  ваш музыкальный опыт в России, отличaeтся от других музыкантов? IB: Каждый музыкант, композитор развивается индивидуально и чем ярче индивидуальность тем и заметнее музыкант как личность не важно в какой стране.

AG: Talk about how you began “Night Forest” IB: “Night Forest”  is one of the first of my works. My works are created in different ways, but the Night is one of those words that was created, and then I just thought of the name. Remembering a time when I was writing, I vividly remember the excitement of what the hands themselves – playing the right notes – and I only had time to remember and record. 

AG: Будете ли вы говорить о том, как вы начали “Ночной лес” -? Как эта штука начать? IB: “Ночной лес” – одно из самых первых моих произведений. Мои произведения создаются по разному, но ночной лес одно из тех, которое создано, а потом придумано название. Вспоминая тот момент, когда я его сочинял, я ярко помню восторг от того, что руки сами сыграли нужные ноты, я только успевал запоминать и записывать.

AG: Favorite piano material of all time? IB: So many brilliant works, it is difficult to select what is best, I will name three immediately come to mind: Yann Tiersen – L’absente, Kevin Kern – Pearls of Joy, Frédéric François Chopin – Waltz No. 7 in c sharp minor, Op. 64.2. 

AG: Какой ваш любимый материал пианино всех времен? IB: Очень много ярких произведений, трудно что то выделить лучшее, назову три сразу приходящих на ум: Yann Tiersen – L’absente, Kevin Kern – Pearls of Joy, Frédéric François Chopin – Waltz No. 7 in c sharp minor, Op. 64,2.

AG: Where would you like to take your music in the future? IB:  I love the scene. In my city, I try to play wherever possible. I would love to play on the big stage outside Russia, in Europe, in Italy, in America and Canada. And I still have never given a serious concert in my city. 

AG:  Где бы вы хотели  играть  вашу музыку в будущем? IB: Я очень люблю сцену, в своем городе я стараюсь играть везде где только можно. Я бы очень хотел поиграть на большой сцене за пределами России, в Европе, в Италии, в Америке и Канаде, но я даже в своем городе еще не разу не давал серьезный концерт.

AG:  What is your focus now musically? IB: The main purpose of my music at the moment: the development and improvement in sound quality. But also,  the most important thing is to not lose creativity. I’m  planning to get more serious than underground concerts of all kinds. My dream is to get become acquainted with Ludovico Einaudi personally :) 

AG: Какие у вас сейчас главные цели в музыке? IB: Главная цель в музыке на данный момент: развитие, улучшение качества звука, но самое главное не потерять творческий потенциал,  планирую начинать более серьезные концерты чем undergroud разного рода. Мечтаю познакомится с Людовико Ейнауди лично :)

AG: What do you enjoy about your music? IB: I like that my music brings light into the world, I like the nice reviews by people. I like my melodies and their simplicity. 

AG: Что вам нравится  в вашей музыке? IB: Мне нравится что моя музыка несет свет в этот мир, мне нравятся приятные отзывы людей, мне нравятся моя мелодичность и простота.

AG: When you create music, is there a particular audience in mind (imagination) or a person? IB: Yes, sometimes when I play for myself, I see myself on stage. So I no longer open my state track produce a lot of emotions and get more for themselves.

AG: Когда вы создаете музыку, вы играете с определенной аудиторией в вашем сознании (воображение), или человекoм? IB: Да, иногда когда я играю для себя я представляю себя на сцене. Так я больше раскрываю состояние композиции, выдаю больше эмоций и больше получаю для себя.

AG: You also play the guitar – and other instruments? IB: Guitar (I mentioned), and  a little accordion.
AG: Bы играете а дугих инструментах? IB: Гитара (я уже говорил об этом), немного на аккордеоне.

AG: Do you feel that you have found your sound, your personal musical sound? IB: I think I found my style, but over time I think to try to write something in the style of traditional classics. Who knows what will be there in the future …. 

AG: Считаете ли вы, что вы нашли вашу музыку? (Ваш личный музыкальный звук) IB: Я считаю что я нашел свой стиль, но со временем я думаю попробовать написать что то в стиле традиционной классики.   Кто знает что будет там, в будущем….

Hear it all here

About Angela Gleason

visual designer | writer | pianist in the basement | painter in the night | fashion critic | lush | Italian savant check me out: www.taxisandwalnuts.com